Iowa Masonic Library & Museum, Grand Lodge Of Iowa

Celebrating 300 Years of Freemasonry

Location: Iowa Masonic Library & Museum, Grand Lodge of Iowa
Time: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
831 First Ave SE, PO Box 279
Cedar Rapids, IA

Add To Itinerary

Next Upcoming Date: Monday, October 23 2017

October

23

2017

Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Monday, October 23
  • Monday, October 30
  • Monday, November 6
  • Monday, November 13
  • Monday, November 20
  • Monday, November 27
  • Monday, December 4
  • Monday, December 11
  • Monday, December 18
  • Monday, December 25

Masonic Treasures of the Grand Lodge of Iowa

The exhibit will tell the story of Freemasonry’s development from an operative craft guild into a speculative fraternal society. Included will be artifacts, jewelry, china, artwork, regalia and other materials that trace the history from the “Goose and Gridiron Tavern” in London, England to the present United Grand Lodge of England and the Grand Lodge of Iowa. Among the items featured will be a letter from Mordecai Gist, written in May 1791 welcoming President George Washington to South Carolina. Gist was the Grand Master of Masons in that state at the time. Also featured will be the Benjamin Franklin edition of The Constitutions of the Free-Masons published in Philadelphia in 1734. All of the materials that will be exhibited are owned by the Iowa Masonic Library and Museums. The exhibit will run through Friday December 29, 2017. 

The Iowa Masonic Library is open Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to noon and 1 to 5 p.m. For more information, please call 319-365-1438.