Cedar Rapids Museum Of Art

Page-Turner Exhibit: Books and Reading in Art

Location: The Cedar Rapids Museum of Art
Time: 12:00 AM
410 Third Ave SE
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Add To Itinerary

Next Upcoming Date: Thursday, October 26 2017

October

26

2017

Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Thursday, October 26
  • Thursday, November 2
  • Thursday, November 9
  • Thursday, November 16
  • Thursday, November 23
  • Thursday, November 30
  • Thursday, December 7
  • Thursday, December 14
  • Thursday, December 21
  • Thursday, December 28

Page-Turner: Books and Reading in Art

March 1,2017 – March 31, 2018

 

Page-Turner: Books and Reading in Art

March 2017 – March 2018

 

From Marvin Cone’s enchanting paintings of his daughter Doris engrossed in a book to Mary GrandPre’s charming illustrations for the blockbuster Harry Potter series, books and reading have inspired artists in a variety of ways for generations.  This exhibition casts a wide net, including objects created out of books, books from artist’s collections, name plates and illustrations from books, and, of course, images of people reading.  This exhibition’s long run will allow for a wide variety of reading-related programming over the course of the year.